Becoming Nobody

 

Have you ever heard of the concept called "Somebody Training" by Ram Dass? This term describes how we try to become "Somebody". We get positive feedback for "being somebody" / doing something and negative feedback for "being somebody else" / doingsomithing else. We create this idea in our heads of who we want to be or should be, what we have to achieve, what/who we have to become. Who we have to be. we create a cage-like shape how/who/what we have to become.

I believe we all come to a point where we start to feel the pressure of being "Somebody". We feel put into boxes.
And we all find our ways to deal with it.

For me this is to always make sure I stay multifaceted.

I am the one who plays harp.
And I am the one who rides a motorbike.
I am the one who has hay in her hair and smells like horse.
And I am the one who likes to dress up nicely sometimes.
I am the one who has dreads and wants to change the world.
And I'm the one who knows how to behave and be polite and respectful.
I am loud.
And I am quiet.
I am fast.
And I am slow.

It gives me confidence not to be just the one thing.
It gives me surety people won't put me into just one box.
It gives me surety I won't put myself into just one box.

And yet, when I look at this pattern from a distance, I can see that it is just another somebody training. I am creating just another "Somebody". I make sure to behave like this, I make sure I am that.

Letting go of becoming/being somebody doesn't mean to only set a new goal. It doesn't mean to only change the course of who you become.

Letting go of becoming somebody means becoming nobody. It is the process that brings you to a point where you can truly be yourself.

Let go of labeling yourself and you have the freedom to be whatever you want to be. Do whatever you want to do. Want whatever you want to want.

All those "Somebodys" are labels and those labels hold us back. They tie us down. Lock us away. They limit us.

We are so much more.

So much more than anything or anyone could ever put into words. So much more than we can understand.

You are not just a student, not just an entrepreneur, not just a mother not just an introvert. You are the spectrum of a rainbow, all the elements in one body.

You are everything.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Newsletter

     Thank you for your interest in my texts!

     To be informed of new blog posts enter you email adress below.

 

(noone except me will get your email adress and I only use it to send the newsletter. You can unsubscribe any time.)

______ Carlottravel ______